+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: .RPT files

  1. #1
    Lesa T is offline Junior Member Monarch Forum Newcomer (Welcome!)
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    2

    Default .RPT files

    I am new to both Monarch and the Monarch forum.
    I am currently trying to extract a report from our operating system.
    It sames the files in a print only format with the extention of .rpt.
    I was told I could use Monarch to pull this into a excel spreadsheet.
    However, when I try to open the report in Monarch I am gettting a lot of symbols.
    I am very confused and not certain how to even view my report in Monarch.
    Please help.
    Lesa

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    1,505

    Default Let's have a look...

    Hello Lesa,

    Monarch will let you do exactly that - convert a text report file into a spreadsheet - but it sounds like the format you're saving isn't ASCII or ANSI text. What operating system are you using? Is it possibly producing a file in EBCIDIC? Could you perhaps email a fragment of it to me at olly@greenbar.info and I'll try to spot what's going on?

    Best wishes,

    Olly
    Olly Bond
    MONARCH | | Ň | EXPERTS
    http://www.monarchexperts.com
    mailto:olly@monarchexperts.com

  3. #3
    Data Kruncher is offline Monarch Forum Distinguished Fellow Emeritus Perpetual Guru of Monarch
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    1,705

    Default

    Hi Lesa and welcome to the forum.

    Are you by chance opening .RPT files that were created with Crystal Reports?

    Monarch expects to handle plain text files, like something that you'd create with the Windows Notepad, and it sounds like your RPT file is a binary file that is meant to be a definition of a report and not an individual report that was exported.

    Can you see if you can create .txt or .prn files that you can open with Monarch with your system?
    Maximize your Monarch skills in 30 days with this training package.
    ---
    Now supporting Monarch V10.5 Pro and V9.01 Pro.
    Help us help you. Post a sample of your problem between the [code] and [/code] tags and preview your post.

  4. #4
    Lesa T is offline Junior Member Monarch Forum Newcomer (Welcome!)
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thanks guys.
    I am using a window based operating system for our pharmacy called "Framework" it was written by Softwriters.
    I do not have a choice when I save the report.
    When I try to open it, it looks like this:

    } ̧K Pg{1}.emfz
    4i
    fn
    kel|ldz}yw
    a
    c*RCT7g4
    c}1ג
    cۊc2xܘ
    J
    0J

    v$_
    '4~n<x2-'T7Q}
    } ̧K Pg{2}.emf

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    1,505

    Default Samples

    Hello Lesa,

    Just had a look at:

    http://www.softwriters.com/FormsDivi...%20Samples.pdf

    Unfortunately, I can't even browse the support forums at softwriters without registering...

    Can you print from the Framework application to either a TXT file, a PDF file or an XPS file? If you have Monarch Pro, either of the latter will be (fairly) easy to handle.

    Best wishes,

    Olly
    Olly Bond
    MONARCH | | Ň | EXPERTS
    http://www.monarchexperts.com
    mailto:olly@monarchexperts.com

  6. #6
    Grant Perkins is offline Monarch Forum Life Fellow Perpetual Guru of Monarch
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Derby, United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,975

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lesa T View Post
    Thanks guys.
    I am using a window based operating system for our pharmacy called "Framework" it was written by Softwriters.
    I do not have a choice when I save the report.
    When I try to open it, it looks like this:

    } ̧K Pg{1}.emfz
    4i
    fn
    kel|ldz}yw
    a
    c*RCT7g4
    c}1ג
    cۊc2xܘ
    J
    0J

    v$_
    '4~n<x2-'T7Q}
    } ̧K Pg{2}.emf
    Lesa,

    After you have saved the report from Framework what would you have to do to see the results? Would you need to print it out?

    I suspect that Kruncher has provided a good clue here. Whilst files with name extension .rpt were traditionally plain text based report files the name extension (.RPT) has been used by some for slightly different purposes.

    If you would normally print the report to be able to see it then you may need to do the same 'printing' action before Monarch can read it. However in the Monarch's case an electronic file will be required, not printed paper. If you set up a Print to File (Generic/Text only) type printer in Windows and print to that you should get an electronic file that Monarch can use. This would be my preferred route in the situation I have described.

    The alternative, as Olly has also mentioned, is to print the RPT definition to PDF or XMS but at this time my personal preference for keeping things as simple as possible would be to go with the Text output using the Generic/Text printer facility available in Windows.

    HTH.


    Grant
    Grant Perkins
    MONARCH | | Ň | EXPERTS
    http://www.monarchexperts.com
    mailto:grant@monarchexperts.com

    V11.7 (Pro): Windows 7 Pro
    V9, V10.5 (Pro): Windows 7
    Earlier versions "archived" as machines died ...

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts