PDA

View Full Version : automating project export

dfeld71
January 8th, 2010, 03:07 PM
Hi everyone -
I am relatively new to Monarch, and have a question that may seem basic, but here goes....

I have created a Project, and within that a Project Export. Does anyone know how I can get the PRJ to run the Export automatically? What is happening now, is that when I click the PRJ, the Model opens and takes me to the Table, but then I have to manually do File, Project Export to get it to run.

Thank you, in advance, for your assistance!

-Deb

Data Kruncher
January 8th, 2010, 03:26 PM
Hi Deb. Welcome to the forum!

There aren't any settings to direct Monarch to run project exports automatically when a project is loaded, but you can still do what you want pretty easily.

The answer lies in creating a Windows batch file. You can direct windows to run Monarch and, via a mechanism known as "command line parameters", simultaneously open a project file and run your export(s). Run Notepad and type something like this:

"C:\Program Files\Monarch\Program\Monarch.exe" /prj:"C:\MyFolder\MyProject.xprj" /pxalland save the file to your desktop as "ProjectExport.bat".

Edit as necessary to indicate the proper path for the Monarch program and for your project file.

Now just double-click the batch file icon to execute the export.

For more information about automating Monarch via batch files, and to get a free tool that will build Monarch batch files for you by stepping you through the various options available to you, please visit ExcelWithMonarch.com (http://excelwithmonarch.com/tips/monarch-batch-file-generator).

If you're interested in gaining even better control of automating Monarch, you can subscribe to the Feedburner email service to receive ExcelWithMonarch.com site updates by email and you'll also receive a free tool that helps with programming Monarch via Excel.

HTH,
Data Kruncher

timdasch
February 22nd, 2010, 01:44 PM